To understand the plugin’s settings system or to synchronize your first database, please review the walkthroughs. Users familiar with Google Sync Plugin 3.0 should also find this information useful.

The Configuration window customizes the plugin’s authorization and other settings for the current database, and sets default configurations for all new databases that will be used with the plugin.


Syncing Your Database

So you just installed the plugin, and are ready to sync. Maybe you are a veteran of the original Google Sync 3.0, or perhaps this is the first time you have used a plugin to Sync with Drive. Hopefully these short walkthroughs are helpful.


New Databases

The first time you sync a database, the plugin searches for an entry to store its configuration data. Each entry’s URL field is searched for a value containing this name: accounts.google.com. If no such entry is found, the plugin offers to create one for you.

New Config

However, if the database already contains entries with the accounts.google.com URL value, those entries are searched for plugin configuration information. If this is a new or non-configured database, the information will not be found, and you will be prompted to configure the entry of your choice:

Entries Found

This Google Accounts Found message briefly explains the two alternatives to configure a plugin entry in this case.

  • Click OK to configure one of the found entries.
  • Click Cancel, then delete or modify the KeePass entries with the accounts.google.com URL field values. Then, try to sync again and let the plugin create an entry by consenting to the former No Google Sync Entry Found prompt.

Databases Configured to use KeePass Google Sync

If the database was previously synchronized with Google Sync 3.0, the plugin will find the old configuration, copy it, and adopt this as its own. If there is a valid authorization token in the old configuration, you will be able to synchronize exactly as before without needing to reauthorize.

If you haven’t used the old plugin for some time, or if you have recently experienced problems with the old plugin, you may be required to authorize the new plugin. Please review the authorization issues topics for guidance.


Configuration Window

The plugin menu’s Configuration command opens a dialog that lets you choose various settings for the current database, as well as some global settings affecting new databases and general plugin operation. An About tab displays the plugin version and credits.

The Configuration Window

All settings available here are editable, but the current settings are not changed until you click OK; clicking Cancel discards any changes made in the dialog window.

Sync Authorization

The Sync Authorization tab contains the settings specific to the current database, mostly with regard to authorizing the plugin to sync with Google Drive.

KeePass Entry Title is a list box that displays the Title field of KeePass database entries eligible to be the “active” plugin entry. The entry you select here is where the plugin will store the authorization token, and other settings.

Entry Selection

Eligible entries are those where the URL field contains the name accounts.google.com, as mentioned in the New Databases section above.

Google Drive Authorization is where you specify the app credentials the plugin will use to authorize access.

Entry Selection

Google requires apps such as the plugin to use OAuth 2.0 credentials, which they have issued, to obtain in-app access to your Drive account. These credentials only give the plugin the ability to ask your consent to access; you still must prove to Google, at least once, that you own the account (through Google Sign-in), and that you allow access to the plugin (through the authorization page shown after successful sign in).

Checking the the Use built-in OAuth 2.0 Client ID check box will cause the plugin to use credentials it has been issued by Google. Currently, these are the legacy credentials used by Google Sync 3.0.

Clearing the check box enables the Client ID and Client Secret text boxes, in which you must enter your own Google issued OAuth 2.0 credentials, if you wish to authorize the plugin that way.

The Use limited Drive access check box determines the permission level you allow the plugin when accessing Drive.

In the Google Drive Options group is the Target Sync Folder feature, with which to specify a folder in Drive where the plugin synchronizes your database files. Leave this blank for the traditional Google Sync 3.0 “one sync file across all of Drive” semantics.

Other Options

Options and Defaults

This Configuration tab contains settings pertaining to all databases used with the plugin, and default settings for new databases.

Options and Defaults Tab

Enabled Commands lets you choose the commands you want to use with the plugin, and the commands you would rather disable.

The Auto Sync group are options to completely automate the Sync with Drive command by invoking it automatically when Saving or Opening a database.

The Google Drive Authorization Defaults are similar to the settings of Google Drive Authorization group on the Sync Authorization tab, but instead of affecting the current database, these settings will be adopted by any new database you use the plugin with.

The Folder Options Defaults settings are also similar to the Google Drive Options group on the Sync Authorization tab, but again, apply to new databases created with the plugin.

The Default New Folder Color option provides a way for the plugin to colorize folders created by the plugin. For more information on this and other folder related features, please review the Designated Folder topic.

KeePass Sync for Google Drive™

Secure sync automation with Drive.